english

The Ransomware-as-a-Service market within the darknet

For the past few years, ransomware has been one of the fastest-growing cybercrimes. The current trend is that organizations such as businesses, universities, hospitals and even municipalities are becoming the primary targets, whereas regular citizens are, to a lesser extent, being hit. Because of ransomware success, ransomware-as-a-service (RaaS) has grown in popularity.  RaaS is available …

Everyday Cyber Security in Organizations

Everyday cybersecurity involves both technological and human security. Technological security focuses on maintaining the integrity of the technology, ensuring the usability of technological security, and controlling access. Human security encompasses interactions between people mediated through technology. This report is a review of academic and policy literature in the context of everyday cybersecurity in organizations. The …

One-class classification approach for bot detection on Twitter

Twitter bots can be used for malicious purposes, such as distributing malware, disseminate fake news, faking grassroots political movements, and interfering with social movements. Twitter allows its users to access its services through a web page, mobile applications, and an application programming interface (API). Even though API allows enhances users’ experience with contents, API also …

Accounting for the human factors in cyber education

Human users are generally the main target for socially engineered cyber attacks, phishing scams, and data leaks. Thus, several human factors may raise or diminish the likelihood of being the victim of a cyberattack, hack, or data breach. Cyber hygiene involves establishing and maintaining crucial cyber health behaviours. Routinely changing passwords and avoiding recycled passwords, …

Unintended Harms of Cybersecurity Countermeasures

Organizations can deploy cybersecurity countermeasures to prevent or reduce the harms of specific risks. These measures include technical controls, policies, and advice for system users. Although cybersecurity countermeasures are put in place to reduce or prevent damage, they can have unintended consequences. These harms can be negligible such as, causing disruption or serious and thus …

Understanding our memory to increase password memorability

Users acquire more online accounts in their personal and working lives. Therefore, users might indulge in practices such as password reuse, writing down passwords, sharing passwords or choosing weak passwords to be able to remember multiple passwords. These practices might be perceived as more convenient in terms of money, time, and convenience. There are several …

Migration from traditional Social Network to Anonymous Social Network

Even though social network sites (SNS) are still popular, more and more young users are abandoning traditional social network sites. In 2018, less than half of people aged 12–17 used Facebook monthly.  These changes can be attributed to the fact that young users are looking for other options such as Anonymous Social network (ASNS) platforms …

français

Bulletin du Centre antifraude du Canada- Fraudes ciblant les contribuables (Agence du revenu du Canada)

Le présent bulletin donne un aperçu des fraudes qui continuent de cibler des contribuables canadiens chaque année. Fraudes ciblant les contribuables Le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) continue de recevoir des signalements de fraudes ciblant les contribuables par courriel, message texte et téléphone. Ces fraudes peuvent prendre l’une des formes suivantes : Les fraudeurs appellent …

Pourquoi les données de Statistique Canada sur la cybersécurité et la cybercriminalité sont-elles importantes?

For English version, consult this page. Au Canada et ailleurs, les statistiques sont essentielles au développement de politiques publiques efficaces basées sur des données probantes. L’utilisation de statistiques consolidées dans la prévention et le contrôle de la cybercriminalité est un enjeu d’autant plus important aujourd’hui que le gouvernement canadien s’est doté d’une stratégie nationale de …

Intelligence Artificielle avec Serge-Olivier Paquette | Artificial Intelligence with Serge-Olivier Paquette

(English version will follow) Cette semaine, nous avons eu le plaisir de nous entretenir avec Serge-Olivier Paquette, chercheur en cybersécurité et intelligence artificielle chez Delve Labs, une startup montréalaise spécialisée dans le développement d’outils de sécurité autonome. Parlez-nous de vous. Chez Delve Labs, j’exerce un rôle hybride de scientifique de données, programmeur, statisticien et expert en cybersécurité. …

Étude de forums pour une collecte de renseignement proactive | Study Hackers Forum for Proactive Cyber Threat Intelligence

(English version will follow) Les cyberattaques coûtent approximativement 445 milliards de dollars par an à l’économie mondiale. Les rapports de renseignements sur les cyber menaces (cyber threat intelligence (CTI) en anglais) sont conçus pour aider les organisations à se protéger contre les cyberattaques. Pour créer ces rapports, les compagnies s’appuient sur des données collectées à …

Montréhack avec Olivier Bilodeau | Montréhack with Olivier Bilodeau

(English version will follow) PROFIL DE COMMUNAUTÉ Cette semaine, nous avons eu le plaisir de nous entretenir avec Olivier Bilodeau co-fondateur de Montréhack. Il y a bientôt 6 ans, vous avez fondé Montréhack, un groupe de professionnels de la sécurité et d’étudiants qui se rencontrent une fois par mois pour partager leurs compétences dans un …

Une analyse de sécurité des moniteurs d’activité |A Security Analysis of Wearable Health Trackers

(English version below) Alors que l’horloge approchait de la nouvelle année, vous avez certainement, comme des millions de personnes, décidé de prendre de bonnes résolutions concernant votre condition physique. Pour vous aider à tenir vos résolutions, vous avez certainement décidé d’acheter un moniteur d’activité ou un bracelet intelligent. Ces bracelets d’activité sont des systèmes intégrés …

Exploring User Behavior and Cybersecurity Knowledge in Online Shopping | Comportements et connaissances des utilisateurs lors de magasinage en ligne

(French below) Every year more and more people are doing their Christmas shopping online. Online Christmas shopping can come as blessing, as you can beat the queues in stores and get it all delivered to your door without leaving your house. However there are risks associated with online shopping. Cybersecurity challenges are continually evolving and …

Trouver le maillon faible dans le maillon faible

Les menaces liées au cybercrime ont créés une augmentation importante de dépenses en surveillance et logiciels de la part des compagnies et gouvernements pour se protéger contre toutes ces menaces. Cependant, ils occultent souvent un des risques premiers à la cybersécurité : les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs ordinaires, et non les technologies, sont souvent décrits comme la …

Différences de genre dans la perception des emplois en science informatique

Bien qu’elle soit en constante augmentation, la participation des femmes dans le champ des STIM (science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques) reste encore considérablement faible. Plusieurs études ont montré que les carrières professionnelles dans le champ des STIM représenteront une proportion importante de la main-d’œuvre future et pourtant, le nombre d’étudiants qui graduent dans ce champ …