english

CAFC Financial Crime Trend Bulletin: Counterfeit Merchandise

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre produces regular bulletins to help Canadians to better protect themselves against fraud.     Canadians shopping online need to be on the lookout for deals that can be too good to be true. The Canadian Anti‐Fraud Centre continues to get reports of Canadians buying merchandise online that turn out to be counterfeit. Websites …

CAFC Financial Crime Trend Bulletin: Phishing

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre produces regular bulletins to help Canadians to better protect themselves against fraud.   Phishing scams are traditionally associated with misleading and deceptive emails, falsely claiming to be from a legitimate organization such as a financial institution, business or Government agency in an attempt to have the consumer surrender private and personal information. Scammers …

Develop with protocols for better OTR encryption

Cryptography done right has become important as the impacts of poor implementations are increasingly felt by journalists, whistleblowers and political activists around the world. Nik Unger and Dr. Ian Goldberg at the University of Waterloo have been working on improving cryptography for messaging. Cryptography is designed to provide a level of security for messages beyond …

Could Network View Inconsistency Affect Virtualized Network Security Functions?

Software Defined Networks (SDN) are becoming more commonly used in the cloud. This virtualizes network functions as software instances in the cloud. Mohamad Aslan amd Ashraf Matrawy at Carelton University look at how this characteristics of SDN could affect the performance of Intrusion Detection Systems(IDS) on SDN. Network controllers collect information from other controllers and …

français

CAFC Bulletin sur les tendances de la criminalité financière: Marchandises contrefaites

Le Centre antifraude du Canada produit des bulletins régulièrement pour aider les Canadiens à mieux se protéger contre la fraude. Les Canadiens qui magasinent en ligne doivent se méfier des offres qui semblent trop belles pour être vraies. Le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) reçoit de nombreux signalements de Canadiens qui achètent des articles en ligne qui …

CAFC: Bulletin sur les tendances de la criminalité financière: Hameçonnage

Le Centre antifraude du Canada produit des bulletins régulièrement pour aider les Canadiens à mieux se protéger contre la fraude. Activité généralement associée à des courriels trompeurs prétendument envoyés par une entreprise légitime comme une institution financière, une entreprise ou un organisme du gouvernement afin d’amener le destinataire à donner des renseignements personnels et privés. Les fraudeurs …

L’amélioration de la cryptographie les services de messagerie

La cryptographie bien réalisée est devenue importante car les impacts de sa mauvaise mise en oeuvre se fait de plus en plus ressentir par les journalistes, les lanceurs d’alerte et les activistes politiques. Nik Unger et Dr. Ian Goldberg de l’Université de Waterloo ont travaillé sur l’amélioration de la cryptographie les services de messagerie. La …

CAFC Bulletin sur les tendances de la criminalité financière : Fraude sans carte

Le Centre antifraude du Canada produit des bulletins régulièrement pour aider les Canadiens à mieux se protéger contre la fraude. Le présent bulletin donne les grandes lignes de la fraude sans carte, qui continue de cibler des entreprises canadiennes. Il décrit aussi les diverses tendances associées à ce type de fraude ainsi que les indices …

La cybersécurité est-elle possible?

Entrevue avec Sébastien Gambs dans le cadre de la conférence « La cybersécurité est-elle possible? » au Cœur des sciences de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Sébastien Gambs est professeur d’informatique à l’UQAM. Ses travaux de recherche portent principalement sur la protection de la vie privée et la sécurité informatique, en particulier pour les …